Posted by: harbisonb | May 1, 2013

Abba Father…

 

Galatians 4:4-7 (MSG)

4-7 But when the time arrived that was set by God the Father, God sent his Son, born among us of a woman, born under the conditions of the law so that he might redeem those of us who have been kidnapped by the law. Thus we have been set free to experience our rightful heritage. You can tell for sure that you are now fully adopted as his own children because God sent the Spirit of his Son into our lives crying out, “Papa! Father!” Doesn’t that privilege of intimate conversation with God make it plain that you are not a slave, but a child? And if you are a child, you’re also an heir, with complete access to the inheritance.

 

Wow! What comfort I get when I read these verses! To know that we are FULLY adopted by our heavenly Father, and not just taken in as slaves to serve Him but we are heirs to His kingdom having COMPLETE access to Heavenly blessings just as a biological child would have. I also think that we get to experience some of those blessings here on this earth. I have seen the lives of friends and family changed forever when they get to experience the joy of childbirth. It is an amazing miracle that I will not fully understand until we bring our adopted daughter Dannie Rae home from China. I can only imagine with great expectation until our “Gotcha” day gets here…

 

Last Tuesday night we had our first adoption meeting with our adoption agency in Birmingham, AL.  It was a very informational meeting. God has confirmed in many times in both Brandi and my hearts that He has called us to take an orphan into our forever home to be OURS!

 

The closest picture of this miracle that is soon to happen with us was on October 30, 1996 in a Yellow weight room at East Gadsden Baptist church. It was a regular Wednesday night youth service. Our youth pastor Jeff Underwood was preaching and it seemed as if everything that he said was just for me. You see, I was a good person, I had been in church hundreds of times since my father served on staff at the church. I knew all the Sunday School answers, knew all the stories, and knew a lot about God but I had never entered into a personal relationship with Him. Around 8:30 on that evening everything changed for me! The moment that I asked Jesus to be my savior and forgive me of all of my sin, past present and future He came into my heart. He “FULLY ADOPTED” me as His child, forever. That was the greatest miracle I have ever experienced!

 

Dr. James Dobson and Focus On The Family did a study and concluded that 50% of Christians talk about adopting a child but only 4% (not 40%) ever follow through with it. The main 2 reasons Christians never commit are 1. They are scared of the financial burden and 2. Lack of information. So please, I beg you, If you have thought about adoption please make it a matter of fervent prayer! Research it! God has CALLED us as Christ Followers to be obedient!

27 Religion that pleases God the Father must be pure and spotless. You must help needy orphans and widows and not let this world make you evil.

James 1:27

 

I pray today that you have accepted him to be your “Papa! Father”, or as some versions say “Abba Father”, which literally means “Daddy”. Just as a child would cry out in a very personal way to their daddy. (“Daddy, may I sit in your lap.”)  Just as Dannie Rae will call me Daddy one day I pray that you can call on Jesus as your “Daddy”.

 

Here is how…

Romans 10:9-10 So you will be saved, if you honestly say, “Jesus is Lord,” and if you believe with all your heart that God raised him from death. 10 God will accept you and save you, if you truly believe this and tell it to others. 

Let Him adopt you forever.. So that you can enjoy the inheritance that He has waiting on you! 

 

For More adoption info please check out http://lifelinechild.org Is God calling you to go deeper?

Image

Responses

  1. Love ya’ll.

    • We love you Allen’s!!

  2. Wonderful comparison of God choosing us as His children and you and Brandi seeking to choose to give a family to a precious little girl or “girls ” I heard Brandi say. We’ re proud of you! Love you and look forward to seeing that new grandbaby. You and Brandi are both good writers!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

