Posted by: harbisonb | March 5, 2015

Finding Spot

On January 15th just a few days after we officially became Dannie Rae’s Mama and Baba we had the opportunity to go visit her orphanage.  It was something that I was a little uneasy about for her sake.  I wasn’t sure that going back there would be beneficial to her and I wasn’t sure my heart could handle it.  Micah said that he felt like it would be good for us to go and for her to see that she was not going to stay there, but go home with us.  It turned out to be one of the most memorable experiences during our China trip.

One of the last places we saw at the orphanage that day is what they referred to as Dannie Rae’s “finding spot.”  It was a corner of a building with a window just outside the orphanage gate.  They told us that someone tapped on the window and told them there was a baby laying on the ground.  I can’t begin to express the emotions that Micah and I felt as we stood there looking at the spot where our daughter was found.  Seeing her standing in that corner no longer a little orphan baby but our two-year old daughter, wow!

As I have thought about this moment many times, it takes me back to the day when I was found.  When Jesus took up residence in my heart, changed my life forever and made me a daughter of the King.  I can think of times in my life when I had fallen, when I was down in the corners of life.  In the muck and the goo just laying there like a helpless babe.  He reached down and picked me up and took me in.  I was lost and He made me found.  Only Jesus can do that!  We try to do it on our own but we fail every time.

Sometimes we need to revisit our “finding spots” so that we can remember when He changed our status from orphan to daughter or son.  We need to go back to those dark times in the past so that we can remember when He rescued us and brought us into the light. And what should we do when we revisit those “finding spots?”  Fall on our faces and thank Him with unending praise!!  After all, if He had not knocked on the window we would still be down there!

I don’t know where this finds you today.  Maybe you need to be reminded of where you were so that you can focus on where He is taking you.  Stop today, revisit your “finding spot” and thank the One who found you!

2 Corinthians 5:17 “This means that anyone who belongs to Christ has become a new person. The old life is gone; a new life has begun!”

IMG_1962 IMG_1963 IMG_1964


Leave a comment

Categories