Posted by: harbisonb | February 2, 2017

God, please give me a princess carriage….

A few days ago Dannie Rae and I were playing outside.  Actually, she was jumping on the trampoline and I was on the back porch steps having an internal pity party.  Unfortunately, those have been coming far to often these days.  So as Dannie Rae was jumping she was wishing out loud.  She wished for a bigger trampoline, a better swing, a nicer bicycle and then she collapsed.   She said, “God, please give me a princess carriage!”

Those words crushed my pity party heavily!  I began to think about Dannie Rae and how she has absolutely everything she needs and wants.  She literally could ask her daddy for the moon and he would try to lasso it down for her.  Yet, here we were in the backyard and she was wishing for more.  More directly, here I was in the middle of my pity party asking for more.  More of the big picture.  More money.  A more profitable business.  More time.  More wisdom from The Wisdom Giver. For heaven’s sake, I want a princess carriage too!!

For a while I have been in the weird place.  It’s a place I’ve never been before.  A weird spiritually dry, dusty place.  How did I get there?  I walked right in and shut the door behind me.  I had let life get so busy and out of control that I didn’t have time for anything else. I have been in the desert before where it seemed as though I was talking to a wall with no response as I prayed.  This place where I found myself was different.  I wasn’t making time to spend with the Life Giver, so my life was lifeless.  Not because life wasn’t happening but because my source of life was on the back burner.

You know the scripture, “I am the vine; you are the branches.  If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing.”  John 15:5 NIV

I can tell you this is true!!  My life has been fruitless for a while now because I have been consumed with ME!!  My prayer time…..about me.  Everything about me. My place of service in our church, about me.  I want more.  I want to do this or that.  God, can you make this fit in to your plan?  I have been a christian for a long time.  It’s not like this is my first rodeo.  So how did I get here?  The same way Eve got to the place where she stood beneath the enticing fruit that she was forbidden to eat.  That slippery, conniving snake.  He whispers his lies and for some reason after a while we believe them.  He whispers to us that all these other things are important and we should focus on them so we will be “good enough” or “successful enough.”    God gives us a job to do and in our humanness fear kicks in.  We let it take over.  We believe the lies and begin to trust in ourselves more than we trust God.  You know how that ends?  Badly, it ends badly!

He wants to give us our hearts desires.  He wants us to be successful and fruitful.  He wants us to trust Him to get there.  We can’t take over.  I can’t take over.  Our faith has to be bigger than our fear.  Otherwise, we will be a lifeless branch hanging on the tree of Life.  You know what happens to those branches after a while?  They fall off and land at the feet of the TREE.  That’s where I had to go.  The feet of the Father, looking up and saying “help me, forgive me. I don’t want to be a dead branch, give me life again.”

The truth is I’ll never be good enough or successful enough.  But the bigger truth is this, I can believe the lies of the enemy whose life goal is to steal, kill and destroy OR I can believe the Vine.  I can believe the Prince of Peace that tells me that one day He is coming for me in that princess carriage.  And that is what I choose to believe.  The truth.  I don’t need success or money or fame.  I just need to be faithful to the King.  The One who loves me most (even when I’m being dumb). The One who never leaves me or forsakes me. He’s got the whole world in His hands.  Even my little world.  And you know what?  Life is so much sweeter when I give him the reigns of the princess carriage!

I don’t know where this finds you today.  Maybe your in that same desert area I have been in. Maybe I just needed to get this out.  Please stop believing the lies of the enemy and start believing the Father!  One day your princess carriage will arrive and all the other stuff will be exactly that, STUFF!

Much love to you all!

 

 

Responses

  1. So very true sweet girl. As long as we focus on what we don’t have rather than the abundance God lavishes on us we will be in the desert. Isn’t that what happened to the Israelites? “Oh God we had good food in Egypt. I’m tired of manna. I want some new shoes and clothes.” Neither of us deserves the things we have. God has been more than enough. Let His “enough” quench t hat thirst today. I love you and applaud you for your transparency.

  2. Oh Daughter-Love, you don’t know how much I needed to Read this!!!! This is exactly what I’ve been going through also!!!! Praise the Lord for you!!!! Please write a devotional book!! I’ll buy it!!!! Love you!!! ❤️


Leave a Reply

Categories

