Posted by: harbisonb | August 18, 2017

Could it be you?

Then Jesus said, “Come to me, all who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest.” Matthew 11:28

Our family is about to begin a new journey.  In September we will begin a 10 week course to become foster parents.  We are hopeful to grow our family through adoption again and this seems to be the avenue through which the Lord is leading.

We actually filled out an application to go back to China but each and every time I went to mail it in something seemed off.  I began to pray for the Lord to give us peace and show us His will.  One morning in particular I remember praying “Lord if foster care is what your calling us to, reveal that.”  That day no less than four times a literal sign for foster care was in my line of sight.  I hear you, Lord!

These are the thoughts that followed when I finally “got it”

“I don’t know if my heart can handle it. I mean, what if we take in a baby and I get attached??  How can I recover if said baby has to leave?”

“I can’t put my heart out there like that.”

“We can’t do this, it’s to much of a risk!”

“What if we take in a child/children from a difficult place?”

“What about Dannie Rae?  How will she feel about all of this?”

The Lord’s whisper back to me……

“What if my son had felt that way about you? What if he hadn’t taken the risk, shown the love and given the sacrifice?  Where would you be? Do you not claim to be my follower?  Anything worth while involves risks!  You love because I first loved you, right?  Have you not been praying for MY WILL to be done? Well, here it is sister!”

After that everything started to fall into place.  An opportunity opened up for us to host the GPS classes at our church, which is awesome!! We are excited to be working with the Alabama Baptist Children’s home! We already have several families signed up.  When we say “yes”, though we may be scared, God takes the reigns and works it all out.  Am I still nervous?  Of course, but I have peace in knowing that God is the driver on this roller coaster life of ours!

The reality is that there are thousands of children around us who are weary and in need of rest.  Could it be you?  Could it be your family that is called to be the hands and feet of Jesus to these precious ones?  Is it going to be easy? No. Are you going to have uncomfortable moments? Absolutely! But God! I promise the reward is far greater than the risk!

If you are in our area, we would absolutely love to have you join us.  If not, let me encourage you to get involved in your area!  Literally thousands of children are in “the system.”  Some have been bounced around from place to place for years.  What if God wanted to use your family to change their life forever?  The opportunity is there, will you take it?

Could it be you?

Please pray for us as we enter this new depth!  We are trusting God to bring the child/children to our family that He wants us to love.  Whether they stay for a little while or a long while, they will be loved, cared for and offered rest from the weariness. Our greatest privilege will be to teach and show the love of Christ.  He will never leave them or forsake them!

Love you all and thanks for journeying to the deep with us!

foster care.JPG

Contact me to sign up!  August 20th is the last day to register!

Leave a Reply

Categories

