Posted by: harbisonb | November 3, 2021

The picture that says it all

This picture was snapped on Essie’s first day with us. After Micah snapped it, I remember looking at it and being overcome with emotion. It was almost as if the Lord started playing back all those prayers I prayed for so many years, even the angry ones. I can remember begging and pleading with him to open my womb. Laying in the fetal position, screaming at Him to let me have this. Let me be pregnant. All those words started falling on me in this moment, all three of my babies filling my lap. Wow!!

You see, God didn’t answer my prayers according to my timing or how I thought he should. He had this plan. This perfect plan. All we had to do was trust Him. He didn’t open my womb, He opened my heart. He took me from barren to broken. Broken for the fatherless in this world. He showed me that being a mama didn’t require me to have an open womb, just an open heart.

So, as I sat there with that lap full of babies I said, “Thank you, Lord! Thank you for closing my womb and opening my heart because I can’t imagine anything better than this!” He is so good!! I praise Him, for only He can bring this kind of beauty from the ashes I was offering.

Whatever you are praying for or pleading for, Please know that, His ways are perfect. He is on time even when it is not our time! He sees you. He hears you. He knows you and most of all He LOVES you! Psalm 84:11 says, “For the Lord is our sun and shield. He gives us grace and glory. The Lord will withhold no good thing from those who do what is right.” Trust Him. Seek Him. Ask Him.

I say none of this to pat Micah and I on the back. Our one and only goal is to point others to Jesus. He is the only good thing in us! It is only through our adoption as sons and daughters through the blood of Jesus that we are able to live this blessed life! We are full of thanks to the Good, Good Father!!


Responses

  1. When God does a thing He does it up big!! I love you guys!


Leave a comment

Categories